Last year’s Cowapa League co-Player of the Year received this year’s award all to himself, as Seaside senior Jackson Januik was selected as the boys basketball MVP for the 2016-17 season.

Januik — also a leading candidate for the 4A state Player of the Year award — was one of five Seaside players on the all-league team, as the league co-champion Gulls had all five starters on the all-league squad, as did Valley Catholic.

Seaside’s Bill Westerholm and Valley Catholic’s Joel Sobotka shared the annual co-Coach of the Year honor.

Januik was joined on the first-team by senior teammates Attikin Babb and Hunter Thompson, and sophomore Chase Januik. Sophomore Payton Westerholm was selected honorable mention.

Astoria senior Olaf Englund was named to the first team, and Fisherman senior Ryan Palek was honorable mention.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.