The most predictable basketball tournament in the state played out just like it always does Dec. 21, on the final of the annual Seaside Holiday Classic.

For the sixth year in a row, the Seaside boys played in the championship game of their own tournament. And for the fourth time in the last five, the Gulls took the title, with an easy 77-52 win over Montesano.

Since 2010, Seaside has appeared in the championship game of the Holiday Classic nine times, missing the title game just once (2013).

There wasn't much opposition in their latest drive to the championship.

Seaside opened with a 61-48 win over Newport, and followed with blowout victories over Centralia (73-42) and Montesano (77-52).

Saturday's final was tied 14-14 early in the second quarter, before the Gulls put the game away with a 23-6 run to end the first half.

The Gulls dominated at both ends of the floor, controlling the boards and making nearly every shot they put up.

Three-pointers from Brayden Johnson, Stephen Snyder, Everest Sibony, Ledger Pugh and Cash Corder helped Seaside build a 60-30 lead early in the third period.

Johnson led the Gulls with 21 points, Snyder scored 12, with 10 points apiece from Ryan Hague and Sibony.

Gulls 73, Centralia 42

The Gulls clinched their sixth straight appearance in the championship game of their own tournament with a 73-42 semifinal win over Centralia.

Ten players made the scoring column for Seaside, which jumped out to a quick 13-0 lead, and led 26-9 early in the second quarter.

Brayden Johnson led all scorers with 21 points, followed by Ryan Hague with 13 and Everest Sibony with 10.

Gulls 61, Newport 48

For the last three years, Newport vs. Seaside was the boys championship game of the annual Seaside Holiday Classic.

This season, the Cubs and the Gulls met in a first round game of the Classic, with Seaside posting an easy 61-48 win over Newport.

The Gulls snapped a 36-36 tie in the third quarter with a 17-3 run to put the game away.

Ryan Hague, Stephen Snyder and Everest Sibony all knocked down 3-pointers during the decisive run.

Sndyer led a trio of players in double figures with 18, followed by Hague with 11 and Brayden Johnson with 10. Sibony and Beau Johnson scored eight points each.

Seaside Holiday Classic

(Boys championship games, since 2010)

2010: South Whidbey def. Seaside, 45-32

2011: Seaside def. Madras, 51-35

2012: Madras def. Seaside, 54-47

2014: Madras def. Seaside, 45-41

2015: Seaside def. Astoria, 61-40

2016: Seaside def. Newport, 87-54

2017: Newport def. Seaside, 70-59

2018: Seaside def. Newport, 66-47

2019: Seaside def. Montesano, 77-52

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.