Thompson files, Clement passes on county commission seat

In this Nov. 4, 2016, photo, voters wait in line to cast ballots at an early polling site in San Antonio. Your parents were right: Math really does matter. After all of the tumult and tedium of a long, ugly presidential campaign, Election Day is all about which candidate can win enough states to get to 270 electoral votes.(AP Photo/Eric Gay)

A familiar face in Astoria politics will vie for a Clatsop County Board of Commissioners seat, while the incumbent will bow out.

Doug Thompson, a real estate broker, property manager and former Astoria city councilor, filed for the District 3 seat ahead of Tuesday’s deadline. Commissioner Lisa Clement, co-owner of Clemente’s Seafood, will not seek re-election.

Thompson made his decision after learning Clement did not file, he said.

“I’m in it to win it,” he said.

Thompson is the chairman of the Clatsop County Democratic Central Committee. He is resigning from the post to pursue to the commission seat, he said.

He earned a business administration degree from Portland State University before serving as a city councilor from 1991 to 2002.

The county commission has three positions up for election.

Pamela Wev, an Astoria land use planning consultant, and Peter Roscoe, a former Astoria city councilor and owner of Fulio’s Pastaria, have also filed for the District 3 seat. The position covers parts of Astoria as well as Miles Crossing, Jeffers Garden, Lewis and Clark, Youngs River, Olney, Green Mountain and parts of Walluski.

Commissioner Scott Lee, the board’s chairman, announced in 2016 that he would not seek re-election in District 1. Mark Kujala — former Warrenton mayor and owner of Skipanon Brand Seafood — Andrew Davis — a medical data analyst — and George McCartin — a retired lawyer and frequent public meeting attendee — have all filed for the seat.

Commissioner Lianne Thompson will campaign for a second term and run against Susana Gladwin, a Jewell farmer. The District 5 seat covers most of South County, including Cannon Beach, Arch Cape, Elsie, Jewell and parts of Seaside.

The race to replace state Rep. Deborah Boone in House District 32 includes four candidates.

Tim Josi — a Tillamook County commissioner — John Orr — an Astoria attorney — and Tiffiny Mitchell — a progressive activist with Indivisible North Coast Oregon — have filed for the Democratic primary. Warrenton author and educator Melissa Ousley filed as a Democrat but withdrew her candidacy late last month.

Gene Stout — a general contractor from Banks — and Vineeta S. Lower — a Seaside teacher — will compete in the Republican primary, while Brian Halvorsen — a Rockaway Beach community organizer who founded North Coast Progressives — filed as an Independent.

Josi has received the strongest financial backing of all the District 32 candidates.

Ron Brown filed earlier this year as a district attorney candidate. Brown is a longtime deputy for Josh Marquis, who has held the position since 1994 but will not seek another term.

Circuit Court Judge Cindee Matyas also filed for re-election.

The primary election is May 15, and the general election will take place Nov. 6.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.